When you just can’t deal…….

It’s been one of those weeks, blog friends. For a variety of reasons, despite the best of intentions, I just haven’t been able to muster up the energy to put a whole lot of effort into dinner this week. It happens to the best of us right? Thankfully, I’ve developed a couple of tricks to fall back on when my wallet just doesn’t allow me to call the nearest take out joint.

Pasta

Like it’s fellow carbohydrate brethren, I feel like pasta is the perfect vehicle for just about anything. It’s inexpensive, comforting, and one of the easiest things to make. I usually match it with whatever protein & veggies I have on hand and go with a really simple (often no cook) sauce of either tomato, garlic and olive oil, or butter and parmesan cheese.

Frozen Shrimp

These little guys have gotten me out of many a dinner jam. They defrost in minutes, cook just as quickly, and are a healthy (and delicious) source of protein.

Quick Cooking Veggies

Beans, greens, asparagus, tomatoes, squash – anything you can coat in a little bit of olive oil and throw in a sauté pan works for me in whipping up a tasty and healthy side in just a few minutes.

Roasting

This has to be one of my favorite ways to cook in terms of ease and adding flavor. This method may, at times, require a longer cooking time – but essentially I’m just throwing something in the oven and walking away. Perfect for those days when I’m severely lacking in motivation. In addition to chicken, pork, and shrimp, I also love roasting cauliflower, brussel sprouts, and potatoes.

Eggs

A godsend when I’m feeling especially lazy. Like pasta, eggs are inexpensive, versatile, and crazy easy to make. Scrambled (who says you can’t have breakfast for dinner?), hardboiled, or baked in a frittata are just some of the ways I beat the ‘I don’t feel like cooking blues’.

Here’s what was on the menu for me and my husband two nights this week:

Tuesday

Ham and Veggie Frittata with Oven Roasted Brussel Sprouts

Brussel sprouts, extra virgin olive oil, salt, and pepper

Roasted at 400 degrees F, for 40-45 minutes (until brown and crispy).

Asparagus, cherry tomatoes, spinach, onions, garlic, ham, and parmesan cheese.

Red pepper flakes in the frittata are my secret weapon!

Wednesday

Veggie Pizza with Prosciutto and Basil

Store bought thin crust Boboli/Freschetta pizza crusts and jarred tomato sauce help make life easier.

Asparagus, zucchini, spinach, onions, garlic, prosciutto, mozzarella, olive oil, and basil.

Ok, there may have been a 4th piece……..

 

Sometimes, at the end of the day, you just don’t want to deal with making dinner. You just want to pour yourself a glass of wine, curl up on the couch, and indulge in some guilty pleasure television. These are some of the ways I help do that for myself. Anyone else out there having one of these weeks or have their own tips or tricks to share?

3 thoughts on “When you just can’t deal…….

    • Thanks Rose! I swear by those store-bought pizza crusts. In an ideal world I would make the dough myself. But often, I just want pizza when I want it and don’t have the forethought to make it in advance.

Leave a Reply

