Praise be to brunch.

I love Brunch. It’s a pastime I try to partake in as much as I can, and as much as my wallet will allow. And today, I’d like to introduce you all to two wonderful places I’ve eaten in the last few weeks – one, an old favorite, the other, a newly discovered treasure. Both are nestled within in one of my favorite neighborhoods here in Seattle, Capitol Hill.

Oddfellows Cafe and Bar

Located in a recently renovated, historic building dating back to the early 1900’s, Oddfellows is a rustic and charming place where the food is always top-notch and the atmosphere alive and buzzing with energy. Wooden tables set with wild flowers, an old structure with a story, and (most importantly) really great food. It’s definitely my kind of place.

The menu is small, done to preserve quality over quantity, but anything you order here will be fantastic. My husband and I usually order what seems to the be the two most popular dishes, the Biscuit with Eggs, and Eggs Benedict. Admittedly, we should venture outside the box one of these days and try one of their incredibly tempting specials. But we like what we like.

These pictures don’t do either of the dishes justice.

Especially this one.

In addition to the eggs, I recommend the Brioche French Toast as well as the Beignets if you like your breakfast more on the sweet side (or VERY sweet side in terms of the French Toast). The bar is stocked, the orange juice fresh, and the jasmine green tea is simply divine.

 

The Kingfish Cafe

I have to give credit to my lovely husband for discovering this place. A Capitol Hill favorite, you walk in and you can tell you’re in for something truly something special. (It’s easy to see why there is always a line for a table).

History, family, and love. Without a doubt, these are the words I would use to describe The Kingfish Cafe. Even though the restaurant is owned and run by Seattle native sisters, you feel like you could be sitting in a venue anywhere in the South. From the delectable and thoughtful menu, to the wall-sized photographs of family members (spanning several generations) proudly displayed throughout the space, to the jazz and blues playing in the background. It’s clear these ladies have worked hard to incorporate as much of their Alabama roots into this Pacific Northwest joint as possible.

Once more we went with the restaurant favorites. My husband got the Chicken and Waffles and I got the Crabcake Dewey with Herbed Hollandaise. I can’t even describe to you how good our food was. It was one of those situations where once you started eating, you didn’t stop until everything was gone, even if you were full. Every bite was a warm and comforting hug, brimming with heart and soul.

Eggs Benedict Crabcake Heaven!

Best. combo. ever.

 

His.

Hers.

Needless to say, we will definitely be returning.

Leave a Reply

