Ay dios huevos.

I stumbled upon this recipe about a week ago and have been sitting on it ever since trying to come up with a clever and personal narrative that I could somehow connect to this dish. Finally, this morning, I decided that the story was actually pretty straightforward, and therefore perfect in its simplicity. I wanted Huevos Rancheros, I looked up a recipe, and then I made it.

Because some days, let’s face it, do you really need more than that?

 

Huevos Rancheros
Recipe via Smitten Kitchen. (I only changed a few of her techniques and ingredients).

Heat a 6-inch corn tortilla in an oiled pan, you could also use a generous spritz of cooking spray here as well, and flip when golden brown. Then, sprinkle some shredded cheddar cheese over the browned side. Once the cheese has begun to melt, break a single egg over the tortilla and season it with salt and pepper. Next, take a piece of aluminum foil approx. the size of your pan and place on top making sure it doesn’t come in contact with the egg. Do this to cook your egg until it reaches the desired doneness, transfer to a plate, and you’re done!* Serve with your favorite combination of salsa (fresh or jarred), beans, Greek yogurt or sour cream, cilantro or parsley (whatever you have or prefer), and Tabasco.

*This is a far less adventurous technique than the one provided by Smitten Kitchen. But, this is my preferred method because, given my flipping skills, it severely increases my chances of ending up with an egg yolk fully intact. And those of you who know me, know where I stand on the pointlessness of an inadequately prepared yolk.

Leave a Reply

