Get it together.

I feel like my brain has been on temporary vacation for the past week. She’s off on a tropical island somewhere, cocktail in hand, and left no word on when she’ll be returning. Quite frankly, I’m a little peeved she didn’t invite me along. With her absence it’s been a real struggle sitting down and putting something together without feeling like I need a nap. Maybe I should drink more coffee, maybe I should stop watching so much guilty-pleasure television? (Dawson’s Creek and Sister Wives on Netflix anyone?)

There’s a lot going on these days. After some serious thought and discussion, my husband and I have decided to move back to the east coast this coming fall. We’ve loved living in Seattle, with its breath taking views and insane food scene, and most definitely plan to return for future getaways. It will always have a special place in our hearts and we will remember it, and our time here, fondly. That being said, it’s time for us to go. A multitude of weddings, babies, and other major life events that include our friends and family await us on the other side. To be perfectly blunt, we’ve missed the heck out of everyone and can’t wait to see their smiling faces. We’re excited to be going back with a new perspective and a new appreciation for what we left behind. We welcome the upcoming adventure with open arms.

However, with this decision comes major responsibility. The packing, the shipping, the selling, everything that comes with closing up shop. Pair that with an incredibly busy time at work and I resort to living life as a possum.* Overwhelmed to the point of comatose. I should make lists, I should map out a schedule, I should do a lot of things……..in the end, I made banana bread.

I didn’t realize it at the time, but this is very reminiscent to the bread pudding I made in an earlier post. To that I simply shrug and say: Some flavors just belong with one another and sometimes the day beckons for a soft cloud of butter, banana, and cinnamon.

 

Banana Bread with Oats and Walnuts
Adapted from TheFreshLoaf.com, Makes 1 full-sized loaf or 2 small loaves

1/2 stick (4-5 tablespoons) butter, softened
2 eggs
2 or 3 very ripe bananas
1/2 cup nonfat Greek yogurt
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
3/4 cup light brown sugar
1 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
1/2 cup oats (optional)
1/2-1 cup chopped walnuts (optional)

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. In a large bowl, combine banana, butter, eggs, Greek yogurt, brown sugar and vanilla. In a separate bowl, combine the flour, salt, baking soda, baking powder, cinnamon, and nutmeg. In small batches, mix the dry ingredients in with the wet ingredients until fully blended. At this point, if using, stir in the oats and walnuts.

Pour the dough into a greased pan(s) and bake; small loaves take around 30-40 minutes, a normal-sized loaf takes around 50-60 minutes. Remove from the oven when a toothpick, inserted in the center of the bread, comes out clean. Allow to cool for 5 or 10 minutes, then remove loaf from the pan in order for it to cool down further. Enjoy warmed or at room temperature.

*I asked my linguist husband about this and he assures me it’s technically correct. Blame him if you disagree!

Leave a Reply

